Rutgers School of Environmental and Biological Sciences [Dept. of Food Science]

George M. Carman, Ph. D.

Dr. Carman


Dr. George M. Carman is the Board of Governors Professor of Food Science, the Chief Scientific Officer of the New Jersey Institute for Food, Nutrition, & Health, and the Director of the Rutgers Center for Lipid Research.  He received his B.A. degree from William Paterson College, M.S. degree from Seton Hall University, and Ph.D. degree from the University of Massachusetts.  His postdoctoral training was at the University of Texas Medical School in Houston.  Dr. Carman’s laboratory is recognized internationally for its work on the biochemical and molecular characterization of phospholipid metabolism/signaling in the yeast Saccharomyces cerevisiae.  He has authored 198 refereed publications and has written several review articles on phospholipid metabolism and on its regulation.  Dr. Carman is a Fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology, and is the recipient of the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (ASBMB) Avanti Award in Lipids, American Oil Chemists Society-Supelco/Nicholas Pelick Research Award, Selman A. Waksman Honorary Lectureship Award, the Faculty Mentor of the Year Award, the Rutgers University Board of Trustees Award for Excellence in Research, and the New Jersey Agricultural Experiment Station Research Excellence Award.  He is a former chair and organizer of the Gordon Research Conference on Lipid Metabolism and the Keystone Symposium on Lipid Second Messengers, and served as chair of the ASBMB Program Planning Committee and the ASBMB Meetings Committee.  He served as President of the Theobald Smith Society, the New Jersey branch of the American Society for Microbiology, and served on the Physiological Chemistry Study Section of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).  He is a former Associate Editor of the Journal of Lipid Research and former Executive Editor of Biochimica et Biophysica Acta.  Dr. Carman currently serves as an Associate Editor of the Journal of Biological Chemistry and Executive Editor of Analytical Biochemistry, and is member of the Biochemistry and Biophysics of Membranes Study Section of NIH.